Member Companies & Projects
 

Dr Lui Che-woo was born in Jiangmen, China in 1929. He established the first K. Wah company in Hong Kong in the 1950s. He is currently Chairman of K. Wah Group. Its major member companies include K. Wah International Holdings Limited (stock code: 0173), Galaxy Entertainment Group Limited (stock code: 0027 and a member of the Hang Seng Index), Stanford Hotels International and K. Wah Construction Materials Limited. Today, K. Wah has developed into a multi-national conglomerate involving properties, entertainment and leisure, hospitality, and construction materials with over 200 subsidiaries and more than 33,000 employees worldwide and the foothold of the business covers Hong Kong, Mainland China, Macau, North America and Southeast Asia.

Dr Lui is a pioneer in Hong Kong construction materials industry. In the 1960s, he embarked on property investments. In the 1980s, he set his sights on hotel development. In the 1990s, Dr Lui expanded his business into Mainland China. In 2002, he ventured into Macau’s gaming business and is now one of the six gaming operators in Macau where he aims at developing world class travel, leisure, shopping, meeting, convention, exhibition and entertainment facilities. 

In 2015 when K. Wah Group marks its 60th anniversary, Dr Lui established the LUI Che Woo Prize – Prize for World Civilisation in Hong Kong. It is the first of the kind annual cross-sector international prize honouring and recognizing individuals or organizations who have unconditionally promoted world civilization through sustainable development, contribution to the welfare of mankind and promotion of positive life attitude and enhancement of positive energy.

A distinguished philanthropist, Dr Lui has been particularly supportive of the development of medical care, education and information technology. He was Chairman of the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals in 1981-1982. In 1996, Dr Lui became founding Chairman of the China Association (H.K.) for Science and Society Limited to promote information technology development and application in Hong Kong, and act as a platform for Hong Kong, China and international collaboration on information technology. In 1999, Dr Lui provided funds for the Stanford University Medical Centre to set up Lui Che Woo Research Laboratory. He also holds important posts in various tertiary institutions including Founding Honorary Patron of The University of Hong Kong Foundation for Educational Development and Research, Member of the Board of Trustees of United College of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Honorary Member of the Court of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Member of the Court of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Honorary Life Chairman of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University Foundation, Life Honorary Chairman of Wuyi University Board of Trustees, Honorary Dean of Business Faculty of Yangzhou University, and Member of the Board of Directors of Fudan University. In 2002, the Dr Lui Che Woo Awards for CUHK/Cornell Student Exchange Programme in Hospitality Management was established to facilitate academic exchanges of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management and Cornell University. In 2005, an initiative in support of the reconstruction and refurbishment of 122 schools in underprivileged regions across Mainland China was committed through The Ministry of Education. In 2006, a fund was set up at the School of Hotel and Tourism Management of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University for academic research and scholarship for outstanding students. In 2008, donations were pledged in support of the Mainland’s university students in rural to complete their four to five years’ degree programmes via Virya Foundation, the construction of the Lui Che Woo Building at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the renovation and expansion of a centenary building at Fudan University, as well as the development of a new Beijing campus for the China Europe International Business School. In 2010, donations were made to The University of Hong Kong for the building of a law library in the Centennial Campus and to the University of Macau in support of the new campus development in Hengqin, Zhuhai. In 2012, donation was made to the Chinese University of Hong Kong for the establishment of the Lui Che Woo Institute of Innovative Medicine. In 2013, donation was pledged to Opera Hong Kong as an Honorary Patron to promote local art education and cultivate art management talents. In 2014, a HK$1.3 billion GEG Charitable Foundation was established to cultivate in the young proper moral values and nurture their sense of belonging to society and the community. In 2015, Dr Lui announced a donation to pledge HK$15.6 million to the Chinese University of Hong Kong to establish the Lui Che Woo Distinguished Young Scholars Award and the Lui Che Woo Distinguished Young Scholars Research Scholarship to support outstanding medical research students to further their studies overseas. In 2016, Jia Hui Cheng School in Guangzhou and K. Wah Education Fund were established to promote sustainable development of well-rounded education in Mainland China. In 2017, donation was made to Shanghai Jiao Tong University for setting up the K. Wah City Governance Research Fund in support of the establishment of K. Wah Big Data Center.

In recognition of his exemplary contributions to the community, Dr Lui was made a Member of the Order of the British Empire by The Queen (MBE) in 1982 and was appointed as a Justice of the Peace (JP) in 1986. In 1995, an asteroid discovered by the Purple Mountain Observatory in Nanjing was named “Lui Che Woo Star”. Dr Lui was presented the Outstanding Contribution Award in Guangzhou in 1996. Dr Lui was also awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa by the University of Victoria in 2001; the degree of Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa, by the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2002; an Honorary University Fellowship by the University of Hong Kong in 2002; the degree of Honorary Doctor of Laws by Concordia University in 2004; the degree of Doctor of Business Administration, honoris causa, by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2005 and the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa, by the University of Hong Kong in 2016. In addition, Dr Lui was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) in 2005. In 2007, he was honoured as the Business Person of the Year in DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards and presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award by American Academy of Hospitality Sciences.Dr Lui was presented the Diamond Award by Macau Tatler and the Lifetime Achievement Award by All Leaders Publication Group Limited, both in 2011. In 2012, Dr Lui was awarded the Grand Bauhinia Medal by the HKSAR Government for his significant contribution to Hong Kong and presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award at Asia Pacific Enterpreneurship Awards 2012 by Enterprise Asia. In 2013, Dr Lui received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 13th China Hotel Golden Horse Award. In 2014, Dr Lui was presented the Outstanding Contribution Award at the International Gaming Awards, as well as Entrepreneur of the Year at the Asian Awards. In 2015, Dr Lui was awarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 22nd World Travel Awards in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the travel and tourism industry, as well as Top 10 Outstanding Cantonese at the 2nd Global Conference of the Cantonese.

As a good citizen, Dr Lui was elected Member of the 9th National Committee of Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, a member of the Selection Committee for the First Term Chief Executive of the HKSAR, a member of the Election Committee of the HKSAR and Member of Steering Committee on MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conventions and Exhibitions).

Awards and Honours 1
2016

Degree of Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa, by the University of Hong Kong

2015

Lifetime Achievement Award at the 22nd World Travel Awards

Top 10 Outstanding Cantonese at the 2nd Global Conference of the Cantonese

2014

Outstanding Contribution Award at the International Gaming Awards

Entrepreneur of the Year at the Asian Awards

2013

Lifetime Achievement Award in the 13th China Hotel Golden Horse Award

2012

Grand Bauhinia Medal by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

2011

Diamond Award by Macau Tatler

All Leaders - Lifetime Achievement Award

2007

Business Person of the Year in DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award by American Academy of Hospitality Sciences
2005

Gold Bauhinia Star by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Degree of Doctor of Business Administration, honoris causa, by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University

2004
Degree of Honorary Doctor of Laws by Concordia University, Canada
2002

Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa, by the Chinese University of Hong Kong

Honorary University Fellowship, by The University of Hong Kong

2001

Degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, by the University of Victoria, Canada

1997

Contribution to the Betterment of Da Ze Award

1996

Outstanding Contribution Award in Guangzhou

Outstanding Foreign Investor Award (Guangdong Province)

1995

Naming of 'Lui Che Woo Star' Asteroid No. 5538 (Discovered by Purple Mountain Observatory in Nanjing)

1994

Citizen of Honor (Nanjing)

1993

Citizen of Honor (Guangzhou)

Citizen of Honor (Jiangmen)

1986

Justice of The Peace

1982

Member of The Order of The British Empire


|
|
|

成員公司及項目一覽
 

呂志和博士,原籍廣東新會,1929年出生於江門市。呂博士於20世紀50年代創立首間嘉華公司,現任嘉華集團主席、呂志和獎創辦人及董事會主席暨獎項理事會主席。嘉華集團屬下主要成員包括嘉華國際集團有限公司 (股份代號:0173)、銀河娛樂集團有限公司 (股份代號:0027,為恆生指數成份股)、仕德福國際酒店集團嘉華建材有限公司,分別從事地產、娛樂休閒、酒店及建築材料等業務,附屬公司超過200多間,全球員工逾33,000人,投資的業務遍佈香港、中國內地、澳門、北美洲及東南亞。

呂博士乃香港建材業之翹楚;60年代涉足地產發展;80年代開始拓展酒店業務;90年代初將業務拓展至中國內地;2002年更投得澳門娛樂牌照成為六個博彩營運商之一,祈將世界一級水平、集渡假、消閒、購物、商貿會議及娛樂於一身之旅遊事業於該地發展。

2015年適逢嘉華集團立業60周年誌慶,呂博士在香港創辦籌備經年的「呂志和獎─世界文明獎」。此一年一度的國際跨界創新獎項,旨在表彰以無私大愛為推動世界文明發展作出貢獻的人士或團體,從而促進世界資源可持續發展、改善世人福祉、倡導積極正面人生觀及提升正能量。

呂博士宅心仁厚,貢獻惠澤四海,對醫療、高等教育、基礎教育及資訊科技發展尤為熱心,並擔任多項社會公職。呂博士曾任香港東華三院辛酉年(1981年 - 1982年)主席;1996年,呂博士任香港中華科學與社會協進會主席,推動香港高新科技發展及應用,以及促進香港和內地以及國際科技交流合作;1999年捐款資助美國史丹福大學醫學院成立研究中心;又為香港大學教研發展基金創會榮譽會長、香港中文大學聯合書院校董、香港科技大學顧問委員會榮譽委員、香港理工大學顧問委員會委員、香港理工大學基金永遠榮譽主席、江門市五邑大學董事會永遠榮譽會長、揚州大學商學院名譽院長、上海復旦大學校董會校董;2002年於香港中文大學設立「呂志和博士獎學金」,以鼓勵酒店及旅遊管理學院學生到美國康奈爾大學交流;2005年透過中國教育部資助122間位於內地貧困地區之中小學進行重建、擴建及翻新工程;2006年資助香港理工大學酒店及旅遊業管理學院進行學術研究及設立獎學金;2008年捐助精進基金,以支持內地農村大學生完成四至五年學位課程,又捐助香港理工大學興建「呂志和樓」、上海復旦大學重修及擴建具百年歷史之校長樓及中歐國際工商學院興建北京新校園;2010年分別捐建香港大學百周年校園的全新呂志和法律圖書館及澳門大學珠海橫琴新校舍;2012年捐資香港中文大學成立呂志和創新醫學研究所;2013年成為香港歌劇院榮譽贊助人,推動本地藝術教育及人才培訓;2014年成立13億港元的銀河娛樂集團基金會,協助年輕人建立正確的德育和價值觀、培養國家和民族感;2015年向香港中文大學捐資1,560萬港元成立「呂志和卓越青年學者獎勵計劃」以及「呂志和卓越青年學者研究獎學金」,支持出色的中大醫科研究生到海外深造;2016年,捐資興建的廣州嘉匯城學校落成,並成立「嘉華鼓舞教育基金」,推動中國內地教育事業的持續發展;2017年向上海交通大學捐資設立「嘉華城市治理研究基金」以支持建設「嘉華大數據中心」。

呂博士對社會貢獻良多。1982年,呂博士受勳英國員佐勳章(MBE),並於1986年被委任為太平紳士。1995年,中國南京紫金山天文台將其發現的一顆小行星命名為「呂志和星」。呂博士於1996年榮獲廣州市傑出貢獻獎。此外,呂博士於2001年獲加拿大卑詩省維多利亞大學頒授榮譽法學博士學位,2002年獲香港中文大學及香港大學分別頒授榮譽社會科學博士及名譽大學院士銜,2004年獲加拿大康克迪亞大學頒授榮譽法學博士學位,2005年獲香港理工大學頒授榮譽工商管理博士學位,2016年獲香港大學頒授名譽社會科學博士學位。此外,呂博士於2005年獲頒授金紫荊星章(GBS)。2007年,呂博士榮膺DHL/南華早報「香港商業獎」之「商業成就獎」以及美國優質服務科學協會頒發的「終生成就獎」。2011年,呂博士獲《Macau Tatler》雜誌頒發「鑽石成就獎」,並於同年獲領袖傳播集團有限公司頒發「2011《領袖人物》‧終身成就大獎」。2012年,呂博士獲香港特別行政區政府頒授大紫荊勳章(GBM),以表揚其為香港作出的重大貢獻,亦於同年獲亞洲企業商會頒發亞太企業精神獎2012「終身成就獎」。2013年,呂博士獲頒第13屆中國飯店金馬獎之終身成就獎。2014年,呂博士榮獲國際博彩業大獎之傑出貢獻獎及英國「亞洲人大獎」之年度企業家。2015年,呂志和博士於第22屆世界旅遊大獎獲頒終身成就獎,表彰他對旅遊業的傑出貢獻,並於第二屆世界廣府人懇親大會獲頒「十大傑出人物」。

呂博士熱心履行公民責任,當選第九屆全國政治協商委員會委員、香港特別行政區第一屆政府推選委員會及香港特別行政區選舉委員會委員以及香港特別行政區會展旅遊業督導委員會委員。

獎項及榮譽
2016

香港大學名譽社會科學博士

2015

第22屆世界旅遊大獎之終身成就獎

第二屆世界廣府人「十大傑出人物」

2014

國際博彩業大獎之傑出貢獻獎

英國「亞洲人大獎」之年度企業家

2013

第13屆中國飯店金馬獎之終身成就獎

2012

香港特別行政區政府 - 大紫荊勳章

2011

《Macau Tatler》雜誌頒發「鑽石成就獎」

《領袖人物》- 終身成就大獎

2007

香港商業獎之商業成就獎

美國優質服務科學協會頒發「終生成就獎」

2005

金紫荊星章

香港理工大學榮譽工商管理博士

2004

加拿大康克迪亞大學頒授榮譽法學博士

2002

香港中文大學榮譽社會科學博士

香港大學名譽大學院士

2001

加拿大卑詩省維多利亞大學頒授榮譽法學博士

1997

振興大澤貢獻獎

1996

廣州市傑出貢獻獎

廣東省外來投資者表彰大會嘉獎

1995

「呂志和星」國際編號5538 (由國際天文臺命名)

1994

南京市榮譽市民

1993

廣州市榮譽市民

江門市榮譽市民

1986

太平紳士

1982

英女皇授勳 MBE 勳銜

|
|
|